First two thousand words

featherClick here to cut to the chase: https://kimberlyodumwells.wordpress.com/guardinas/

Guardians, is part two of the story that I always thought of as a trilogy in my first efforts to write a book. Ambitious, I know. But I love the saying: Go big or go home.

The first book, The Mother’s (title later changed to Found) was redone shortly after its completions when I realized I could do better. I did, in my humble opinion. I immediately started part two. 77,000 words in I was side tracked by the idea of great sci-fi book about an immortal.  I’m completely fascinated with the story of Henrietta Lacks and her miracle Hela cells, so much that I started to read everything I could find on all the advancements of medicine since their discovery as well as cellular genetics. It’s fascinating stuff. Every element of it from, Dr. Otto Gey’s invention of the roller drum used to grow the cells, to Tuskegee University (then Institute) involvement in mass production of the cells, to how scientist were able to map genes because of them.

Okay. I could go on and on, the point being is that I stopped writing part two of Found to start on a book that is currently titled The First Immortal (I am standing firm regardless of my husband’s obvious disapproval).

I read every day and when I’m not reading I try to write at least two thousand words every day. Most of the time I even make it. This is as per Stephen King’s suggestion in his wonderful writing bible: On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft (that’s the last reference of the great Mr. King; I promise I recognize I have a bit of a problem). Lately I have been drawn to the genre of adult paranormal romance. It took the place of the new love of contemporary romance that took the place of the once loved young adult paranormal romance. So The Blackdagger Brotherhood took the place of Fifty Shades of Grey that took the place of Twilight. I have read more than thirty books in the last four months of this particular genre.

I have also in the last four months almost completely stopped watching television which allows me to read almost constantly, when I’m not doing other mundane daily task such as: cooking, eating, bathing and peeing.

On one fine evening, while sitting on my couch next to my completely ignored husband and equally invisible son, I was reading one of the recently discovered Breed Series books by Lora Leigh. Book seven…or sixteen…maybe it was book three (I read them out of order, they’re stand alone books for the most part), when I had an AH HA!, flashbulb over the head moment. I had an idea for a story.

So at this point I think I can safely assume, without making an ass out of you or me that we all know what time of book Fifty Shades of Grey is. Barnes and Nobel has it under Fiction, Romance but let’s not sugar coat it, its erotica. And if Fifty Shades of Grey is soft core, The Blackdagger Brotherhood is XXX. This is what I have been reading for the last few months and this is the type of book my idea was for.

For five days writing the story consumed my every waking minute. The first day I wrote clean through the night and well into the next day and when I went to sleep, I swear to God, I dreamt about it. I could do nothing else until I finished it and finish it I did. Two weeks it took me. Two weeks to read and then do a first edit before I sent it to two others to read to tell me if it was any good and what changes needed to be made before I post it. My husband calls it my secret book because.

Which brings me back to Guardians, I know, you thought I’d never get to the point.

I had all but given up on part two. I love the story, I just got stuck. I could have become unstuck if my head was not clouded by so many other ideas for stories, better stories. I was resigned to walk away from it indefinitely until… I received a message from a woman who’d read Found and wanted to know when the second book was coming out.

Joy

Pride

Complete and utter SHOCK.

I will never forget the feeling. It was better than my first profit sharing check I received at my last job (and that was HUGE, the feeling and the check, at least for me the money seemed like a lot for someone with no college education and started at 10.00 an hour…different story different time). So I opened the unfinished word document, printed out a copy and sat down to reacquaint myself with the story.

Instructions given by he who will not be named were that when writing it was best not to look back. Unfortunately when the going gets good for me I tend to forget what it was I wrote. So many days I sit down and have no clue what’s next only to find my fingers flying across my keyboard after the first few words are typed. I don’t know if this is common but that’s how it is for me. After reading the first few pages I decided it was…GARBAGE.

To date I have written two full books, two partial books that each are over 70,000 words and a short story. What I discovered, which I read would happen by he who will not be named and confirmed by my husband’s reading of the initial 2,000 words of my book The First Immortal, is that I have gotten better.  Guardians, was my second attempt and as I sat in by bedroom, with pen in hand I could only get through maybe 10,000 words of very bad writing. My very bad writing and so I started over today.

I sat down this morning after dropping my kid off at school, and with page one of the unfinished manuscript next to my computer I started from the beginning. It’s a good story, I spent months researching folklore and religion and history in preparation. I will be finished and it will be good. If not for me than for that one lady who took the time out of her life to not only finish my first book but then like it enough to actually want to read more.

Like I said before, I may not ever be famous. It’s almost guaranteed I will not, but I’ve discovered in the last year that I’m pretty good and spinning my own tale, in addition to telling those of others.

I like the idea of positing the beginning of my stories. I’m always amazed at the first glimmer of an idea that holds so much possibility. The first words that can take you away from the mundane of the everday to place that is…well…magical. The link will take you to the first 2,000+ words of Guardians. ENJOY! https://kimberlyodumwells.wordpress.com/guardinas/

Leave a Reply

