Things I read this year

I read 68 books in 2012 that I can remember. 85 if you count the books I read more than once. For the full list check out the page 2012 Book list.

I did not start the year keeping track of the books that I read. But in October I found myself mesmerized by the great Blackdagger Brotherhood novels. This new find of mine lead to a reading frenzy of sorts. I would stay up long stretches of time, upwards of 43 hours at a time as I refused to even sleep while I read. So at the end of the year on line there are list everywhere. Top this or that of 2012 so I decided I’d compile my own list of something near and dear to my heart.

I can’t talk books without talking Stephen King. I read only two books by the great man. 11/22/63 and Under the Dome. I’ll say up front I’m bias. So no one will be surprised when I say these were two great books. Both page turners that I couldn’t put down until I was finished with them. In the case of Under the Dome I don’t think I took a break other than the bathroom breaks. This includes bathing and cooking (My husband’s a real trooper).

Like everyone else I got caught on the Fifty Shades Of Grey train. I fell in love, was smitten, spellbound. I read the books and then read them again when I finished. I took a break and read a different book and then picked up Fifty again. I couldn’t get enough of Christian Grey and Ms. Steele. I accepted them as a couple but fell in love with Christian. I tolerated Anastasia, Oh my!

Can I say enough about J.R Ward and her world of vampires? The rules are not standard but there’s nothing sparkly about this band of brothers and their journey to find love. I read 10 books in one week staying up 43 hours at time. When I did sleep it was for no more than 3 hours. I ignored my husband and my kid. I ate less and cook nothing. I didn’t bath and cut back on smoking. I was enthralled, I AM addicted. I AM IN LOVE with this series. I know read Ms. Ward’s website religiously for the snippets she post from Lover At Last.

The other series I read were
J.R. Ward – Fallen Angels
Sylvia Day – Crossfire
Larissa Ione – Demonica Series
Lora Leigh – Breed Series
Karen Marie Moning – Fever Series
Becca Fitzpatrick – Hush Hush Series
Cassandra Claire – The Mortal Instruments
Amanada Hocking – My Blood Approves

Single books were Kate Lauren Final which is the last book in the Fallen Series.

One response to “Things I read this year

  1. Pingback: Things I read this year | ChristianBookBarn.com

Leave a Reply

