On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King

 Let me first start off by apologizing for the large amount of time that has passed since my last post. I went back home (Alabama) to attend the wedding of the little boy (grown man) whom I babysat forever ago. When I returned home last week and felt that it was more important to try to catch up on writing my second book.

Smashwords suggested that I start a blog and so I have, I also have opened, registered and joined numerous other social networking sites to help me in my quest to becoming a published author.

I don’t have many post on this blog but if you have read earlier ones than you know that I am a diehard Stephen King fan. I read On Writing shortly after posting my first book online (at Smashwords) and while reading it took it down realizing that it was far from completion. It now sits by the wayside until I finish my second novel, which is coming along smashingly.

Regardless of your genre there is no denying Mr. Kings talent and status as a great author and who better to give advice on the art of being or becoming a write (in my opinion). I read this book and it has since become my bible. There are three things that stuck out and I follow religiously since I read it.

1. Write 2,000 words a day – I read this short book before going to Alabama in mid or late July and started writing my 2,000 words the very next day. It is hard some days and easier others but for the most part doable. I’m not sure if this is how all writers go about it but I’m now 73 thousand words into my second book. Yesterday I wrote about 10 thousand words but I counted it as catch up from missed days when I was on “vacation”.

2. Let your book rest before editing – My first attempt at writing I must have re-read a hundred times (this is no exaggeration). Each day I would re-read what I had written the day before, sometimes numerous times. I was fascinated by what I had achieved but I also thought i was really good. Whether or not it is, is yet to be seen. I also rushed to finish in my excitement which led to me posting too early (a mistake that will not happen again). I took the first book down and have let it “marinate”, as my younger sister would say.

3. The only way to become a good writer is to write and if you’re not writing than you should be reading – I read every night. Usually right before I call it a day. I recently purchased the Nook w/Glow and it is by far my favorite gadget. I’ve dedicated two posts now to Stephen King and it just so happen that I am reading a Stephan King book right now (Full Dark, No Stars) but I just finished reading Amanda Hockings, My Blood Approves Series. Mr. King suggested that you read what you want to write and so I’ve gone back and started to re-read the novels that I fell in love with, by the people that first made me think that I could do it too (next is Penelope Fletcher’s, Rae Wilder Series).

Mr. King does not promise these practices will make you a good writer. But all that he has to say makes perfect sense. My husband, who is an artist, and probably would write circles around me would like to write a sci-fi book. He has yet to write a single word. He has started reading again so hope remains. I’m not sure if I’ll make it as a professional writer but I get up each day and look at it the same way I did when I had to get up for a regular 9 – 5 and I’ll follow the advice that I give my husband everyday when I ask him if he’s started on his. It doesn’t matter if it’s good or not. It doesn’t matter if anyone reads it or not. Just do it and have fun while you are.

One response to “On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King

Leave a Reply

