LUPA

Once upon a time….

A note from me

Lupa

The first book that was mine, really truly my own, was a book of fairy-tales that I’d received as a birthday present when I was about nine or ten—I think.  It included Rumpelstiltskin, Puss in Boots, Rapunzel, Jack and the Bean Stalk and Why the Sea is Salty. There may have been others but my forty year old mind doesn’t remember what they were. My love for stories goes back further than that. My mother read to me and my sisters long before that book of fairy-tales, which started the love affair for all her girls. We’re all mothers now and our children love to read. What a great legacy.

My favorite book fairy-tale is The Twelve Dancing Princesses and my favorite movie fairy-tale is Cinderella. I don’t care who made it or the different versions, if a movie has been made on the premise I love to watch it. Everyone knows the story of the kind girl forced to work in her own home as a slave to her evil step-mother and sisters, but not everyone has read about the dancing princesses.

I don’t know when I started thinking of Lupa as a fairy-tale, Now they’re called paranormal romances or contemporary romance. Is it because that sound more grown up? More modern? Well, let me be the first to call a spade a spade. I like the word and I’d be honored for anyone who reads this book to walk away and think of it as a fairy-tale. I do. There’s bad language and a few steamy scenes but anyone who’s read the original Grimm’s fairy-tales know that there’s a little watering down going on in the studios of Walt Disney. Not for language or sex, but kids being boiled alive and eaten by trolls and birds flying down and eating the evil step-sisters eyes is pretty disturbing too.

I started this story the summer of 2012. It was not a book about werewolf; it wasn’t even a paranormal book until I was about a hundred pages into the original writing. You see, I was obsessed with young adult paranormal romance novels when I decided to write my first book. This story started out the second story I’d ever sat down and tried to put to paper. I loved the first line. “I woke with humidity already wreaking havoc on my slightly overweight body.” It’s not the first line anymore but the whole story came from that one line. The sentence popped into my head and hours later I had the beginnings of a manuscript. I got side tracked, wrote a couple of other books and went back to this story after the new year of 2013. I still loved it. Loved it more than the other stuff I was writing and so I decided to dust it off and finish it. The only problem was I was now into werewolves, where when I’d originally wrote the book I was into fairies and had already incorporated fae mythology into the storyline. Silly person that I am thought I could just find and replace fairy with werewolf.

Wrong.

The manuscript was 78,000 words. I tossed about half and a werewolf story was born. It only took me a week to finish. 113,089 words in five days! What can I say, I love a good story, even if I’m writing it and this was so much fun. The story is fiction of course. I don’t know any werewolves personally. But some of the characters I may have borrowed from my childhood. The main character started out me (remember it didn’t start out a paranormal romance) and ended up a whole different person. I’m glad. I like Marie Elizabeth Josette Freeland.

Okay…so there are two things in the story that are really from my life. One is the story of Josette’s name screw up.  I love movies, books and am obsessed with all royalty not just the British one. And I wanted my son to have a distinguished and powerful name, which for me meant more than the measly two we’re ordinarily given by our parents. The formula was simple; a family name, a name from a character in a movie and one from a book. I named my son Reuben Thaddeus Osiris Odum. Reuben is my grandfather; Osiris is the Egyptian god of the underworld (I first read about him in Queen of the Damned by Anne Rice)…and Thaddeus? Thaddeus is the name of the father of the main character in the movie Boys in the Hood.  If you’ve seen the movie you know his name is Furious. What can I say? I should have done some fact checking on that one. I wouldn’t have named my son Furious anyway; although Hrothgar (Beowulf) and d’Artagnan (The Three Musketeers) were in the running. No shit.

The other true story is about the fork in the water with an electric charge. My sister called me in the kitchen one day and asked me to pick up a fork lying on the countertop next to the sink. I knew something was up. It took me a long time to reach over and try. But I did and I was shocked. After allowing me to try to figure out what the hell was going on for a few minutes my sister finally pointed to the frayed cord of our can opener lying in the puddle of water the fork was sitting in. I don’t know how we got the fork out but it’s a good memory I have of my sister.

Last but not least…I hope.

I’ve been told I tell a good story. I’ve been told this by several people for awhile now so I’m going to have to agree. Anyone who know me knows that when I’m confident in something I’m the first to toot my own horn. Being told I’m a good storyteller makes me want to duck my head, kick the ground and say “Aww shucks,” while blushing a nice bright red. I’m not quite sure why.

But I do know why people would think so, or rather, why I am. It’s because I love a good story of course. And I when I tell a story, other peoples story, be it a book or a film or an episode from a TV show; I want people to get as excited as I was when I was watching or reading it. I want people to cheer the good guys, I want them to hate the villain and cry when true love is loss or found. I want people to want to go home and watch the move or pick up the book or research the subject matter, as I do all the time. Which leads me to—the story itself.

I like history and I like mythology and legend. I know as much as the next average man does about werewolves. But I wanted to add something else. Something that, for those people like me who like to read any and everything; would make a person go to their computers and pull of character names to read the real story.

Odin, Thor’s father, had two wolves Geri and Freki. If you want to know the rest you’ll need to read it on your own. You’re welcome.

 I can’t end without saying something about Stephan King. I’m a fan. Enough said

One response to “LUPA

  1. Huge fan of this book, thank you! I have read lupa 3 times now thorouly enjoying each time (even with the few errors, perhaps missed in editing?) I hope there is going to be a second and SOON!! I also quite enjoyed found which I read because I enjoyed lupa so much and am looking forward to the second book being released, so again I thank you for sharing your stories with us… Cheers Stacey

Leave a Reply

