Christian Grey vs. Gideon Cross

 I find a lot of good books to read when looking in the “Reading” sections of various magazines. This is how I discovered The Hunger Games, The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo and numerous other books I have read in the last two years. Young adult paranormal romance is my genre of choice right now but I’ll read anything including but not limited, Horror (Stephen King), African-American Literature (Toni Morrison), Fantasy (Cassandra Clare), Owner Manuals, Instructions, Nutritional Data, Warnings and lists of Active and Inactive ingredients. Newly discovered and a pleasant surprise is erotica.

Last year after exhausting all efforts to find a new book to read I came across a review of Fifty Shades of Grey. Being one of those people who always judges a book by its cover I was drawn to the simple and sleek monotone colors of the E L James book cover. After reading the review I quickly decided it would not suit my needs and moved on. I’m not sure what I did find to read. I was waiting for the release of two books from series I had started reading and was dying to continue, The Rae Wilder Series by Penelope Fletcher and The Iron Fae Series by Julie Kagawa.

Any who, in June of this year, Fifty Shades of Grey came back up. By this time it had really gotten some wind in its sails and everywhere I turned I was seeing the book cover again. Finally I relented and did research to find out it was tied to…. TWILIGHT! I don’t know the specifics and don’t really care, the mention of my absolute favorite book was good enough for me, so I immediately read the first book and two pages in told my husband I thought a gifted thirteen year old had written the book. But not finishing a book is like falling asleep in the movie theater for me and I continued on. The first sexual encounter between Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele caught me off guard but was a pleasant surprise. The love story developed and while I still don’t see any similarities between Fifty and Twilight it turns out that the book is my 2012 favorite.

Reading the reviews of Fifty Shades of Grey are as entertaining as reading the book. I haven’t really read any good reviews but find it funny how everyone and I mean EVERYONE can’t seem to stop talking about it. I think it’s a lot of people guilty pleasure. By book two the sex dominated the story and I agree with one of the many reviews that I’ve come across and I too, got to the point that I skipped the sex scenes so I could get to the love story (but I didn’t skip them all and halfway through the book I found myself looking at my husband differently and wanting to go out and purchase a riding crop and a ball gag). I think book three is my favorite but by the time I’d gotten that far I was hooked and I’m not embarrassed to say I’ve read them three times.

With certain obsession looming in the horizon that would rival Christian Grey’s I put the book down and decided to try my hand at finishing the book I’d started last year (my first) and revisit some of the young adult books that I’d discovered, as well as, read the new Cassandra Clare Mortal Instruments book City of Fallen Angles.

Fast forward a couple of months:

Fresh out of College Girl - Check , Overprotective roommate - Check,  Mysterious Young Billionaire – Check,  Crazy, Mind-blowing, toe-curling, mutli-orgasmic sex - Check

Gideon who?

Jonesing for a Fifty Shades fix and refusing to read it for a fourth time, I read Bared to You (suggested by many If you Like Fifty Shades of Grey than…)in one sitting. Not sure if this book was meant to ride the coattails of the Fifty Shades books but judging from the book cover, I almost though this novel was a companion book for my beloved Fifty trilogy. This book is better written and has enough similarities that I thought Sylvia Day was trying to show E.L. James what a more accomplish writer could do with the storyline.

I liked that Eva held her own with Gideon from the start. I also like that she had her own demons to deal with, because let’s face it, don’t we all. Anastasia’s sweet never been touched, Oh My, worked my nerves which is why for me all my focus was on Mr. Grey. Both women wants to love against her better judgment and when she does she struggles with her decision until she throws caution to the wind and enters into a no holds barred relationship. Eva and Gideon fight side by side trying to exorcise their past with something that they both love… sex.  Anastasia and Christian takes a different approach caused mainly because Anastasia is so “pure” and so she’s dealing with a very damaged and tortured soul while having sex that she considered wrong but loving it anyway which leads her to look at herself in a different light. In both I found myself rooting for the blossoming relationship early in the book (true romantic that I am). In Fifty the sex scenes were descriptive but in a gifted thirteen year old way. In Bared the descriptive language was sometimes sweet, sometimes jarring and a few times vulgar and I loved every word of it.

But let’s face it. Christian Grey is The Hulk to Gideon Cross’s Bruce Banner.

Gideon shows restraint and reasons through the many problems that he and Eva encounters while Christian makes it happens by any means necessary. His love, and need, and yes,  even his  obsession/addiction for Anastasia, is completely out of his hands. You watch him fight to figure out how to have his cake and eat it too,  But he does through sheer force of will and it makes you fall in love with him each and every time he reaches a new orgasim milestone.

I loved them both Christian and Gideon but it is Christian that I will go to tonight when I settle in with my glass of iced tea and bag of candy and turn on the backlight of my Nook w/Glow and I’m not even embarrassed to say that I can’t wait.

5 responses to “Christian Grey vs. Gideon Cross

  1. Hi.
    Gosh reading this review I thought it was me who wrote that, I’m glad to know that I was not the only person in this world that read Fifty shades 3+ times. I just loved it!!!
    4 days ago I read about bared in you and of course I bought it, and finished it in 24 hours and I downloaded the 2nd book and finishes it in 24 hours. I can’t wait for the 3rd book, and the fact that they are realising it in may, that sucks!!!! While reading Gideon I felt I was cheating on Christian Grey :-)

    Riri

  2. I completely agree with this review. I read Fifty shades many times, over and over. I can’t get enough out of Christian Grey. Ana, however, i tried, really tried to love her, but in the end, i couldnt stamd her. Since they are taking forever to release a movie or a book 4, I came across The Crossfire Trilogy. I loved it so much! And like the first comment, I felt I was cheating on Christian Grey. Ha! But I loved Gideon Cross. I think this series is way better written and makes both characters seem more real, especially Eva. Although she went through a painful childhood, she held her own every time with Gideon. And I loved that she wasn’t too vulnerable. From telling Gideon how she felt about his suppose sneaking around, to flipping him the bird, to cussing him out, or standing up for him when no one else would. I loved Eva! She can totally kick Ana’s ass. In fact, I would love to see how Eva and Christian Grey would stack up against each other. But I loved Gideon! Brink on Book 3 of the Crossfires Trilogy!!! Hurry!!

  3. I read the Fifty Shades trilogy several times. LOVED it. After a while of not reading I decided to start on the Cross series. Honestly, I think Fifty is better. Don’t get me wrong, can’t wait for the next book in the Cross series and love Gideon (especially now), but I just think the Cross books seem repetitive. “Screw like crazy people, Eva gets mad, Gideon tries to understand and then inevitably they screw again…rinse and repeat.” I know that Sylvia Day is a more experienced writer than E. L. James, but I honestly don’t care. I go by what I like, and whereas I like the Cross series so far I actually wouldn’t recommend it to my best friend, who I begged and pleaded with to read Fifty Shades.

    • Yesss!! Finally someone who agrees that Fifty is written better than Crossfire. I don’t care if Sylvia Day is more experienced, Fifty was better!

      MrsEricWells, I agree with the rest of your comparison of the two series. I am also not ashamed to say that I have read the Fifty Shades trilogy several times as well. Don’t get me wrong I like the Crossfire series so far too, but to me, Fifty is way more organized when it comes to the story. I feel like the Crossfire series is written somewhat sloppy. Yes, Christian and Ana fought every five minutes, but some of the fights were refreshing to read because it challenged both characters in a way. For me, there was major character development and I felt a strong connection with the characters as their story unfolded. With Gideon and Eva, it was a little annoying with the constant up and downs because I felt like all it ever led to was sex without any true character development. I do, however, like that Crossfire has other characters that we see more often.

      It might be because I read Fifty first, but it will forever stand as my favorite.
      Crossfire just has way too many similarities with Fifty that I feel like Sylvia Day tried too hard to be like EL James since Fifty was such a success. Just to name a few little details that bothered me …
      1) Christian Grey vs Gideon Cross (CG, GC..reversed letters)
      2) Christian’s mom calls his dad Cary and Eva’s best friend is Cary (there were no other names to choose from?)
      3) Cary models for Grey Isle (again, she really couldn’t choose another name?)
      4) main characters have blue and gray eyes (are green and brown eyes not a “pretty” feature?)

      ‘m excited for the third book of Crossfire but I really wish there was more of Fifty. I heard rumors of a fourth book for Fifty, anyone know anything?

      • Exactly!! I found this tread when searching for the CG/GC comparioson! :) I also picked up on all these details, and just as I started reading the Crossfire series I wondered about plagiarism. So similar in many ways. Wouldn’t it be illegal? Anyway, I am waiting for the 4th book of XFire to come out, just to get some closure. And if there would be a 4th for Fifty, I hoped it could be, like the last chapter of the 3rd book, all related to Christian’s view. And, since I just finished the 3rd book, I wanted to ask your oppinion on Cary. For some reason I do not like him…. I want him to resolve his life and leave Gideon and Eva alone, and not be the 3rd wheel like that. And why he gets everything handed out to him anyway? Don’t like that. :) Look forward to some responses…

Leave a Reply

